NUnit 2.4.1 is slow

I upgraded from NUnit 2.2.9 to NUnit 2.4.1 and while there is all sorts of new goodness added (much of which I don’t yet use) I am quite disappointed in performance. The actual speed of each test hasn’t changed, but it takes longer than before to start running the tests and, more annoyingly, it takes an age to close the form. This is quite a hindrance because, I really want to be able to switch quickly between running/debugging a test and then modifying the code. Obviously, this isn’t possible when it takes 10-15 seconds to close! Hopefully, this will be fixed soon or I will probably revert back to a previous version.

Apart from that, a minor enhancement, which I applaud, is the adding of symbols to the test result icons. They’re not sexy, but they help those of us who are colour-deficient (those yellow Assert.Ignores could easily hide amongst the greens).

2 responses to “NUnit 2.4.1 is slow

  1. Please let me know either by email or through the bug database which download you are using and under what version of .Net. Unreported bugs tend not to be fixed.

Leave a comment